Compare Equipment

Below is a list of Tech that myself and my team of volunteers have reviewed.  I’ll provide all of the important metrics so you can see the difference between each one.  This will be a work in progress over the next year.  To get to a section quicker, follow the category links below.

Mid Range Trainers
Budget Trainers
Running Watches
Fitness Watches

Mid Range Trainers

Here is a handy dandy comparison chart of all the equipment I have reviewed and key features.  I will not be reviewing trainers that don’t have Fitness Equipment Control (FE-C) software installed.  I am only looking at the stats, my ratings, and any new information I find.

Any purchase you make with my purchase link helps support the site.  I buy these trainers with my own money then resell them at a loss.  So far, the blog is pretty far in the RED!

 Wahoo KICKR SnapCycleOps MagnusTACX Bushido Elite RampaBKool Pro
Picture
Purchase LinkWahoo LinkAmazon LinkAthleteshop.uk
Amazon Link
Athleteshop.uk
Amazon Link
Review LinkReviewReviewReviewReview
Our Rating4.7 out of 54.2 out of 54.5 out of 5Review In May???(short funds)
Price$599$599$549-$799$549$699
Max Power1500W1500W1400W800W1250W
Climbing 39x27 @65rpm340W200W100WTesting???(short funds)
Flywheel10.5lbs2.7lbs2.5lbs5lbs?
Accuracy+/- 5%+/- 5%+/- 10%+/- 5%+/- 5%
Total Weight38lbs25lbs24lbs24lbs26lbs
CadenceNoNoYesYesNo
Noise Level dB @ mph61 @20mph
66 @36mph
65 @20mph
81 @36mph
67 @20mph
77 @36mph
Testing75dB @30kph
Style4.54.04.754.0???(short funds)
Build5.03.54.754.25???(short funds)
Performance5.04.04.04.0???(short funds)
Apps4.05.05.04.0???(short funds)
Longevity5.04.04.04.0???(short funds)
Total4.74.24.54.2???(short funds)

Budget Trainers

Here is a list of the “Budget” Smart Trainers that I have reviewed.  Provided are links to those Reviews and purchase links where you can find the best deals.

 TACX Vortex SmartElite Qubo Digital Smart B+TACX Flow Smart
Picture
Purchase LinkPurchasePurchasePurchase
Review LinkReviewReview???(short funds)
Our Rating3.5 out of 53.2 out of 5???(short funds)
Price$499$399$449
Max Power950W1300+W800W
Climbing 39x27 @65rpm100W115W???(short funds)
Flywheel3.5lbs2.7lbs??lbs
Accuracy+/- 10%+/- 10%+/- 10%
Total Weight20lbs20lbs21lbs
CadenceYesYes??
Noise Level dB @ mph65 @20mph
77 @37mph
65 @20mph
75 @37mph
???(short funds)
Style3.53.0???(short funds)
Build3.03.0???(short funds)
Performance3.03.0???(short funds)
Apps5.04.0???(short funds)
Longevity3.03.0???(short funds)
Total3.53.2???(short funds)

Running Watches

We are currently reviewing the Forerunner 230 and 235 at the moment.  The Forerunner 630 will be next followed by the Fenix 5.  We are still contemplating which watch can compete with the Garmin series.  What do you think?  The Apple Series 2 maybe?  Or the Moto 360?

 Forerunner 230/235Forerunner 630Forerunner 935Fenix 5S
Picture
Purchase LinkPurchase 230
Purchase 235
PurchasePurchase LinkPurchase
Review Link230 Review
235 Review
In ReviewTestingReview Link
Our Rating(230) 3.5 out of 5
(235) 3.7 out of 5
In ReviewTesting4.6 out of 5
Price$185 (230) - $327 (235)$350$499$599
Battery Life14 - 23 Days (230)
7 - 11 Days (235)
4 Weeks2 WeeksSolid 9 Days
Display32 Colors @ 215 x 180 Pixels32 Colors @ 215 x 180 Pixels64 colors @ 218 x 218 Pixels64 colors @ 218 x 218 Pixels
Memory200 Hours of Activities200 Hours of Activities64mb64mb
TrackingGPS + GLONASSGPS + GLONASSGPS + GLONASSGPS + GLONASS
Wrist HR ReadingNo(230)/Yes(235)NoYesYes
Water Rating50 Meters50 Meters50 Meters100 Meters
CadenceYesYesYesYes
Activity TrackingYesYesYesYes
SleepYesYesYesYes
Style4In ReviewTesting5
Build4.5In ReviewTesting5
Battery Life5/4.0(235)In ReviewTesting5
Running4.25In ReviewTesting4
Cycling3In ReviewTesting4
Swim/Golf/Hiking0In ReviewTesting5
Additional Tracking Features (Steps, Sleep, etc)4.25In ReviewTesting5
App Integration4.25In ReviewTesting4.5
HR Tracking4.5(235)In ReviewTesting3
Longevity4.5In ReviewTesting5
Total(230) 3.4 out of 5.
(235) 3.7 out of 5.
In ReviewTesting4.6 out of 5

Fitness Watches

Coming soon!  Garmin VivoSmart HR, Garmin VivoMove, Polar A360, FitBit HR 2, and FitBit Alta.

Bear with us as we figure out what categories are important and which ones should go away.

 Polar A360Garmin VivoSmart HRFitBit Charge 2FitBit Alta HRGarmin VivoMove
Picture
Purchase LinkPurchasePurchasePurchasePurchasePurchase
Review LinkReview LinkReview LinkTestingReview LinkTesting
Our Rating3.9 out of 5In ReviewTestingTesting3.0 out of 5
Price$120-$199$95-$150$150-$180$150-$180$90-$250
Battery Life10 to 14 days5 DaysTestingTesting1 Year
Display80 x 160 pixels RGB68 x 168 pixel OLED1.5 inch OLEDOLEDClassic Watch Face
Wrist HR ReadingActivity Only-Random while awake
-1 second during activity
-Broadcast ANT+ HR Signal
TestingTestingNONE
Sleep TrackingYesYesTestingTestingYes
Smart NotificationsYesYesYesYesNo
Water Rating30 Meters50 MetersZeroZero50 Meters
TouchscreenYes, swipe and tapYes,swipe and tapYes, tap onlyYes, tap onlyNone
CustomizableYesNo??No
Armband SwapYesNoYesYesYes
Style4.02.5TestingTesting5.0
Build4.04.5TestingTesting5.0
Battery Life4.53.0TestingTesting5.0
Step Accuracy4.254.5TestingTesting5.0
HR Accuracy4.04.0TestingTestingNone
Touch Screen4.04.25TestingTestingNone
Sleep Tracking3.02.0TestingTesting2.0
App Integration3.54.25TestingTesting3.0 (Calories?)
Customizable4.02.0TestingTestingNone
Longevity4.04.75TestingTesting5.0
Total3.9 out of 53.7 out of 5TestingTesting3.0 out of 5 All tests
(4.3 out of 5 for basics)

Translate »